SDFM collects Best Comedy award and a handful of others at the Sussex Film Festival

9 club members (out of a total of about 40 people) attended the Sussex Film Festival this year at Wivelsfield Village Hall on Sunday 7th October, and enjoyed a huge variety of films from all across Sussex.

All 22 entries for the competition were shown interspersed with a refreshment break and a delicious buffet.

SDFM came away with the Best Comedy award for David Allen’s ‘Stay for the Raffle’. Other awards won were a Highly Commended certificate for ‘Goon but not Forgotten‘ by Howard Johnson and David Allen, and Commended certificates for ‘The Elephant’ produced by Alan Cross and Lucy Goldberg, and ‘The Curse of McCarthy’ directed by Alan Eyles and produced by Brian Meetens. (Photo: Alan Eyles and Alan Cross being presented with the Commended certificates by Mike Whyman)

The biggest haul went to a superb documentary titled ‘Alex’s Stitch in Time’ by the Film Riot Group from East Sussex. It won the Mike Coad trophy for the Audience Vote, Best Documentary award and the Challenge Cup for Best Film in festival. The awards were presented by Mike Whyman, Chairman of the IAC.